Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

March 30, 2020

The Honorable Alex Azar Secretary U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 200 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20201

Dear Secretary Azar,

Rural hospitals are the backbone of communities across our nation. These providers are on the frontlines combating the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic. It is imperative these health care professionals receive the immediate support they need to continue caring for our communities.

Small and rural hospitals across the nation are facing an acute financial crisis. Even before this crisis, nearly one-half of rural hospitals were operating at a financial loss, and hundreds were on the brink of closure. Now, they are confronting impossible choices during this public health emergency. The administration must focus on ensuring the financial viability of these providers. Failure to take fast and aggressive action will put the health of our communities at further risk.

In response to this crisis, Congress has enacted a series of bipartisan laws to rescue our economy and health care system. Most recently, we passed the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES Act). This legislation includes new funding to provide financial relief for hospitals. The CARES Act provides you with the flexibility to deliver assistance where it is needed most. Right now, some rural hospitals are reporting they are running out of operating funds. This jeopardizes their ability to maintain health care services during the COVID-19 outbreak. We cannot afford to ignore their pressing needs.

The vast majority of rural hospitals have also ceased performing elective procedures and seeing non-urgent patients. They know the COVID-19 emergency confronting our country must take precedence. However, these actions threaten their financial viability. We are hearing from rural hospitals from across the country that have only days left of cash-on-hand – money needed for payroll and supplies.

Mr. Secretary, our rural providers need your immediate assistance. Congress has provided you with the funding and flexibility. Now it is up to the administration to respond with rapid action to sustain rural providers. Any unnecessary delay will only worsen this situation.

Therefore, we request you make the financial relief of rural hospitals a priority. Rural hospitals need access to financial resources immediately and in the most streamlined manner. We also request you provide Members of Congress with a personal briefing by teleconference by April 3, 2020.

Thank you for your attention to ensuring the health and well-being of patients in rural America. We welcome the opportunity to discuss your efforts addressing our concerns.

John Barrasso, M.D. United States Senator

David P. Roe, M.D. Member of Congress

Michael B. Enzi United States Senator

John Kennedy United States Senator

Jerry Moran United States Senator

Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

James Lankford United States Senator

Kelly Loeffler United States Senator

Martha McSally United States Senator

Roger Wicker United States Senator

Steve Daines United States Senator

Ben Sasse United States Senator

Roy Blunt United States Senator

Todd Young United States Senator Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Doug Jones United States Senator

Tina Smith United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Tom Udall United States Senator

Jon Tester United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United State Senator

Joe Manchin III United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr. United States Senator

Cory Gardner United States Senator James E. Risch United States Senator

Pat Roberts United States Senator

Joni Ernst United States Senator

Marsha Blackurn United States Senator

John Boozman United States Senator

John Hoeven United States Senator

David Perdue United States Senator

Susan Collins United States Senator Deb Fischer United States Senator

Thom Tillis United States Senator

Josh Hawley United States Senator

Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

Mike Crapo United States Senator

Jim Inhofe United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator Sam Graves Member of Congress

Liz Cheney Member of Congress

Bradley Byrne Member of Congress

Michael T. McCaul Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz Member of Congress

Jim Hagedorn Member of Congress

John Carter Member of Congress

Alex X. Mooney Member of Congress

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

Mike Kelly Member of Congress

Tim Walberg Member of Congress Joe Neguse Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress

TJ Cox Member of Congress

Anthony Brindisi Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Xochitl Torres Small Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Collin C. Peterson Member of Congress

Cynthia Axne Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Ron Kind Member of Congress David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress

Greg Gianforte Member of Congress

Roger Marshall, M.D. Member of Congress

Mike Rogers Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler Member of Congress

Ralph Abraham, M.D. Member of Congress

Mike Conaway Member of Congress

Jodey Arrington Member of Congress

Rick Crawford Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress Angie Craig Member of Congress

Ron Wright Member of Congress

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

Ted S. Yoho, D.V.M. Member of Congress

Jason Smith Member of Congress

James Comer Member of Congress

Bob Gibbs Member of Congress

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

Ben Cline Member of Congress

Billy Long Member of Congress

Scott Tipton Member of Congress

Hal Rogers Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress John Moolenaar Member of Congress

David Kustoff Member of Congress

Don Young Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

Mark Green, M.D. Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

John Rose Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

Neal Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress

French Hill Member of Congress

Fred Keller Member of Congress

Ron Estes Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Tom Cole Member of Congress

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

H. Morgan Griffith Member of Congress

Kevin Hern Member of Congress

Austin Scott Member of Congress

Brad Wenstrup, D.P.M. Member of Congress